Directors Board

PEER is governed by a management board comprising of the Directors of each partner institution each of whom is supported by a second representative, listed in the contact list below. The Directors Board meets at least twice a year on a rotating basis. All decisions of the Directors Board have to be taken unanimously and are especially required for:

  • the inclusion of new Parties
  • the appointment of the Chair and the Secretary
  • the adoption of joint research strategies
  • all other decisions related to PEER as a whole.



Currently PEER is chaired by Director Georg Teutsch, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research


A Secretariat consisting of one or more representatives from each PEER centre, coordinated by the Secretary  supports the Chair. The current composition of the Secretariat is:

Secretary: Ursula Schmitz, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Tel: +49 (0)341 235 1833,

Communications: The Secretariat is supported by a Communications Group with representatives from each PEER centre, coordinated by Francine Loos at Wageningen Environmental Research,

AlterraHenk Wolfert, +31 317 481653,
IrsteaRaoul Mille, +33 (0)1 40 96 61 80,
CEHJoanne Chamberlain, +44 149 1692655,
JRCOle Ostermann , +39 0332 78-5360,
DCEAnja Skjoldborg Hansen, +45 8715 1302,
SYKE Kristian Meissner, +358 295 251 422,
UFZUrsula Schmitz, +49 341 2351224,
CIENSErik Framstad,